A NSW Government website

Minimum Standard

Literacy and Numeracy Tests


From 2020, students will be required to demonstrate a minimum standard of literacy and numeracy in order to receive their HSC.

They will demonstrate this standard by taking online tests in reading, writing and numeracy.

Schools can enrol students into Practice Online reading, writing and numeracy tests. Students can sit these tests as many times as they like, but must be enrolled by their school each time they do a test.

To get an understanding of the type of questions that will be asked try the demonstration tests.

Read more about the HSC minimum standard on the NESA website.

Log in to start Practice tests

You will need a Student Number and PIN to log in and complete the tests. Your school supervisor will provide you with these.

Log in below when your supervisor indicates you can start.